Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

I know, I know.  There are a million recipes for chocolate chip cookies, but I swear this is the best!  It has a perrrrrrrfect texture!  You can tell when you finish the dough.  Just look at this!

Don’t you just want to eat it all?!!  In fact, I don’t really know how many cookies this recipe makes because we eat so much of the dough.  I think it’s about 4 dozen though.  🙂  These cookies are soft and chewy with the slightest crispiness around the edges.  It has a perfect balance of sweetness with a touch of saltiness which makes these cookies unique in my opinion.  The only thing about this recipe is that it’s a bit more work than other recipes.

Look at all the ingredients.  Two different “fats”, two different sugars…  It’s not impossibly hard!  Just a little more work but you won’t regret it since these cookies are SOOOOOO good!

I’ve got the recipe below but I do want to add some of my tips that might help you out.  First, don’t freak out about using shortening.  They are cookies and they need fat!  Plus, no matter what you use (butter, margarine, shortening), it’s not good for you!  So you might as well use what tastes the best, right?  And please…  just don’t do any substitutions!  No wheat flour, no margarine, not even milk chocolate chips.  Seriously.  It messes up with the flavor.  Now that you’re not going to cheat some Imperial margarine into the recipe, you might be wondering what is the best way to measure shortening.  My secret is this contraption from Pampered Chef.

Spoon the shortening in making sure to fill in the gaps to get an accurate measurement.  Then just push it out!  Easy and not as messy as any other options.  Speaking of accurate measurements, that is super important in any baking recipe so let’s speak about brown sugar.  Make sure to pack it in and level it off with the back of a table knife.

I have some tools I love to use too I want to share.  I love my KitchenAid Artisan mixer and I am loving my scraper beater.  It doesn’t completely scrape the bowl when the dough is thicker but it will for like cake batters.

In this recipe, make sure you do not over mix the dough or else the cookie ends up not as soft.  Just mix until the ingredients aren’t separated anymore.  Then turn the mixer off!  Oh, and I like to mix in the flour 1 cup at a time so it doesn’t fly all over the place.

Another great cookie tool in the kitchen is my OXO medium cookie scoop.

It makes perfect little cookie balls… to eat.  Oh, and to bake too.  😉  See, I did actually bake some!

If you don’t have a scoop, you can use two spoons.  Use one spoon to pick up cookie dough and then use the other spoon to scrape it off onto the cookie sheet.

Yummmmm, I want some cookie dough now!  The cookies aren’t so bad either…

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

2/3 cup unsalted butter, softened

2/3 cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

3 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 12 oz bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F.  Cream butter, shortening and sugars.  Add eggs one at a time and make sure the egg is incorporated before adding the next one or move on to the next ingredients.  Mix in flour, salt, baking soda and vanilla.  Add chocolate chips.  Drop on ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes.

7 thoughts on “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Chippers | A Saucy Life

  2. Sarah, thanks so much for sharing this recipe and your talents on this blog!! I made these tonight and they turned out wonderful! I’ve tried time and time again to bake the perfect choc chip cookie and always end up disappointed. My husband and girls LOVED them! You’re so cool! 🙂

I would love to hear from you!

