Peanut Butter Chippers

If you like crunchy cookies, then you better find a different blog.

I loooooove only soft, chewy cookies.  And these peanut butter chippers are another example of my love…

This is another “perfect” recipe.  This is not a traditional peanut butter cookie.  This is a medium to mild peanut buttery cookie that is perfect to pair any kind of baking chip.  Well, almost.  Don’t use mint or cherry… yuck!

I have several baking tips here (and while you’re at it, definitely try the recipe!) but I do have a few more I want to share.  It took me a while to figure out how to keep my cookies soft but not undone.  If you have trouble with that too, take a look at this picture.

Do you see how you can see some wetness in the cookie but overall the surface looks dry?  I circled the wet spot for ya too.  You also don’t see any significant browning.  This particular cookie was photographed right after I took it out of the oven.  Now, ovens can be different in temperature and even altitude, humidity, different baking sheets and if you’re destined to have a good day can alter your result.  I try to sit next to the first set of cookies and check on them a minute or two before the given time in an recipe.  Then I can use the same time on the rest of the batch.

If you find that a cookie is hard to lift off of the baking sheet, it could mean that you need a thinner edged spatula or the cookie is not done.  Just keep the cookies on the sheet to continue baking out of the oven and try lifting one up every minute or two.  If you need to keep them on the baking sheet more than 5 minutes, then you definitely need to increase the baking time in the oven.

Another baking tool that I love is Pampered Chef’s stackable cooling rack.  I love how it’s a grid so my soft cookies don’t sink in between the slats even with small cookies.  And during holidays when I’m really cranking the baked goods out, I can stack them and still have some counter space to prep dinner.

Peanut Butter Chippers

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softenend

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/2 cups flour

1 package baking chips

Preheat oven to 350F.  Cream the butters and sugars.  Add the vanilla and eggs.  Mix until creamy.  Mix in soda, salt and flour.  Add chips.  Drop onto an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake for 9-11 minutes.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chippers

  1. Pingback: Perfectly Scrumptious Sugar Cookies | A Saucy Life

I would love to hear from you!

