Chocolate = Happiness?

I looooove chocolate.

Unless I’m pregnant.  Then I like anything sour.  It’s very disappointing.  But I’m not pregnant, so chocolate is my preferred choice.

You know when you have one of those weeks when you feel like that with the amount of stress you’re experiencing you will never be able to relax enough to recuperate?  Yeah, I do too.  I may be overreacting but that’s how I feel in the moment.  When I have those moments, I try to do something to de-stress.  Go for a run, read a book, watch a movie, eat lots of chocolate…

Well, last week I had a few days where I was feeling pulled way too thin.  My adorable little toddler was the Mr. Whiny and reverted to babyhood wanting me to carry him around everywhere all the time.  I actually started getting aches where I’ve never had aches before from the carrying I did indulge him in!  Of course, there was the normal stuff to take care of like the house cleaning, homework helping, meal making, butt wiping.  The thing that made it worse was that my poor hubby was gone all day for 3 days straight.  I don’t mean all day as in gone to work for 8 or 9 hours.  I mean he’s gone before the rest of the family wakes up and comes back after all the kiddos are asleep by 8:30.  He did stop by for about an hour for dinner on two of those days…  But the point is (if you’re not a mother), is that I got no break at all from taking care of the children.

I love my boys!  I make a concentrated effort during hard days like those to remind myself how lucky I am and how wonderful they are to be with but any person would need a break.  See, I don’t even have a car (yet!) to get out of the house so I’m really a stay at home mom.  And by the third day when I knew he wouldn’t be home in the evening as well, I texted him:

Honey, I need a break.  I don’t even have any chocolate to help me.  Are there any magical brownies lying around you can bring me?

When he came home for a dinner break before heading out again, he had a wonderful brown bag of goodies for me.

He told me that he got me a Kit Kat cause of their famous slogan, “Give me a break!”, the Fast Break is self-explanatory and the Laffy Taffy Sour Apple cause I had a sour day.  It was very sweet that he took a few minutes of his crazy day to make me smile.  That’s why I married him, he can always make me smile.  🙂

I didn’t devour the chocolate right away though I wanted to.  I was making dinner and I had enough self-restraint to wait until afterwards.  But then I realized I didn’t want the chocolate anymore.  I was already emotionally fed.  I really didn’t need the chocolate like I had thought.  I needed to feel better and my husband did that for me by showing his love and trying to help me be happy.

Luckily, my husband got misinformed about his activity that evening so he returned home much earlier than planned.  Plus, I skipped out on some cleaning and watched a movie with the kids.  And… I did end up eating my Kit Kat cause I do love those but not because I needed it to fill some emotional hole.  I hope that I can help my hubby be happy when he most needs it like he did with me!

So definitely chocolate doesn’t equal happiness but at times, it can help.  🙂  What is your happy food?

6 thoughts on “Chocolate = Happiness?

  1. Great story Sarah! I basically self-medicate with chocolate a little too much, so I know what you are talking about. And I’ve noticed that when I have family visitors, especially if my mom or my sisters are here, I have far fewer sweet/chocolate cravings, because it’s just like you said – I’m already emotionally fed so I don’t need it to fill that hole. I guess I need to find ways when they are not around to fill that hole in a less caloric fashion!

I would love to hear from you!

