Pretty Polish: Deborah Lippmann P.Y.T.

With a new year comes a feeling of a fresh start and I can’t think of a better polish for a new me than fresh-looking Deborah Lippmann’s P.Y.T.

Deborah Lippmann makes some pretty sweet polishes.  She usually has an awesome formula and comes up with some unique looks that others quickly copy.  P.Y.T. means pretty young thing (which I wish I was) and is named after a Michael Jackson song.  I’ve been coveting this shade for a while and finally scored it on a random sale on HSN.com for only $6.  With shipping.  Soooooo sweet considering her polishes without shipping usually cost $16-18!  Now this polish is considered a jelly and for those not familiar with the underground nail world, jelly refers to the type of finish.  Jellies are sheer and super shiny and can require lots of coats depending on the look you’re going for.

Here are my almost bare nails.  All I have on is my base coat.  Do you see the awful crack in my thumb nail?  Forever ago I burned my thumb at the cuticle and it damaged my nail.  I’m scared of when it grows out to the tip.  It will be so yucky!!  The good thing is that it burned off my excess cuticle and it looked really nice.   🙂   You can make jellies more opaque by using another polish underneath (called undies!)  and the best undies are nude.

Here is one coat of P.Y.T.  I used undies on my thumb to show you the difference and to cover up my ugly thumb nail.  On my other fingers, you can barely tell I have anything on!  If you want to use undies, paint your nails with a nude cream polish and let it dry.  I used 2 coats of OPI Samoan Sand.  Then paint the jelly polish on top.

Second coat added.  Now you can tell I have polish on.  My thumb nail with undies looks opaque (goodbye ugly!) but the rest still show a lot of free edge.  So I slapped on another coat.

And perfection achieved!  The thumb didn’t need a third coat and I can’t see much of a difference between coat 2 and 3.  You can still see a bit of the free edge on the other nails but this is how a jelly is supposed to look.  I really love the look of this peachy coral color!

Mani Info:

Base coat- Orly Nailtrition

Thumb undies- OPI Samoan Sand

Polish- Deborah Lippmann P.Y.T.

Top coat- Poshe Super Fast Drying

2 thoughts on “Pretty Polish: Deborah Lippmann P.Y.T.

I would love to hear from you!

